Chapter Ten: The Shell and the Glasses Chapter Eleven: Castle Rock

49

In chapter 10, after Roger kills Piggy, the conch is destroyed into a million pieces, now Ralph is left on his own. If you were in Ralphs shoes, would you surrender to Jacks tribe? Or just try to survive on your own?

If I was in Ralphs shoes in that type of situation I would be so confused about everything that just happened and not be able to think straight. I would take a few seconds to get my head straight and come up with a master plan. Ralph being the leader that he is, he would not want to surrender to such a terrible person, so he would survive on his own, and that is exactly what I would do as well. If I has lead so many boys from the beginning of the story, it should not be hard to lead myself and just focus on keeping myself alive. I would start off by looking for some sort of shelter. I would try to blend in with the leaves and the nature. I would do what Ralph did and hide somewhere near where Jacks tribe is hiding. Although, I would definitely not tell the twins because at this point you can’t trust anyone. Jack was smart and tricked the twins into telling them where Ralph was. I would not tell anyone about my plans and try to be as quiet as possible.

Now that I am safely sitting in my own hideout, and I feel secure, I now have some time to think and process everything that happened. I would move on from that and focus how I can get rescued. I am very confident in my abilities and I don’t like to lose. Although, if all else fails I would have to join Jacks tribe for my safety. It would be hard to find food on my own without getting caught by Jack and his tribe. I could go hunting during the night and someone could possibly find me and mistake me for the beast and kill me like they killed Simon. It would a big surprise if they did accept me into their tribe but I would just try it anyways. I would have to beg and plead, my dignity would be lost, but it would be a smart decision if I would like to get rescued.

Leave a comment