Chapter 8: Lord of the Flies

Alike Team Jacob and Team Edward in the Twilight series, there is an evident divide between the two groups on the island. If you were in the position of a big one on the island what team would you be a part of? Would you join Ralph’s team, Jack’s team, or even make up your own team? If you decide to make your own group explain what it would be like, if not explain why you chose Jack or Ralphs team

Jack and Ralph

If I were in such a terrible situation stranded on an island and I had to choose between two leaders or make my own group, I would definitely just choose one of the groups. I would not be able to be my own leader because I wouldn’t be very good under pressure. If I had the chance to choose one leader, Ralph or Jack, I would most likely choose Ralph’s side.

Ralph listens to everybody and their ideas and co-operates with everyone. Cooperation is a very successful survival strategy. Ralph is a better leader than Jack in William Golding’s Lord of the Flies because of his democratic approach and civil manner. Unlike Jack, he doesn’t want a savage society on the island. Ralph makes a better leader in our world because he is democratic and lets the boys on the island voice their opinions about certain things that they wanted to be done on the island. He also is a better leader because he didn’t turn into a savage for the whole time he was on the island. He also kept a positive attitude about getting rescued for the entire time he was on the island which I liked because if I was on the island I would to be reminded that we won’t stay on the island forever.

Ralph is a better leader because he is democratic and civil. He listens to what all the boys on the island had to say by making up the rule at meetings that only the person holding the conch could speak by saying ” We can’t have everyone talking at once. We’ll have `hands up’ like at school. Then I’ll give him the conch.”(Golding 33) So when all of the boys on the island had meetings Ralph was usually then one to hold the conch to speak to the boys about certain things. This shows a sense of leadership and organization which I found really amazing.

Ralph displays useful human qualities as a leader. He knows that in order to stay civilized the boys need stability and order. He creates rules and a simple form of government to achieve this order. Ralph understands that the boys have to be given respect and must be treated as equals. This makes Ralph a better leader than Jack. Under Jack’s rule, the boys become uncivilized savages. They have no discipline at all! However, Ralph keeps the boys under order through the meetings, which he calls himself. At these meetings a sense of order is put back into the boys because the boys have to wait until they hold the conch to speak.

To recap, I would choose Ralph as a leader over Jack because he has great leadership skills based on his personality, and he did not turn the boys into savages like Jack did.

Leave a comment